The Forbidden Room



  • A never-before-seen woodsman mysteriously appears aboard a submarine that’s been trapped deep under water for months with an unstable cargo. As the terrified crew make their way through the corridors of the doomed vessel, they find themselves on a voyage into the origins of their darkest fears.

The Forbidden Room is a 2015 Canadian romantic mystery comedy-drama film co-directed by Guy Maddin and Evan Johnson, and written by Maddin, Johnson, and Robert Kotyk. The film stars Roy Dupuis, Clara Furey, Louis Negin, Udo Kier, Gregory Hlady, Mathieu Amalric, Noel Burton, and GĂ©raldine Chaplin.

Although shot concurrently with the films of Maddin’s Seances project, the two film projects are distinct, with separate stories and stars, and all script material for The Forbidden Room is original and not based on lost films.